photographing, cooking, laughing through life

“Pin”spiration Week 2 – Burlap wreath

It’s time for project #2 in my year of Pintrest inspired projects. Today’s project came from (here) and is a wreath idea that inspired me to make today’s project.

The supplies you need are: A Styrofoam wreath, strips of burlap, straight pins, hot glue gun, decorations for the wreath.

First you need to cut your strips of burlap.  I purchased some burlap that was already in a thin long strip, but I still needed to cut it into about 5 feet segments.

Burlap is cut and ready.

Burlap is cut and ready.

Next, you need to wrap one strip of burlap around the wreath…and then use the other two strips to gather around the wreath. I think the wreath I purchased was a little bigger than the one on the site, but it still worked.

Wrapped and ready for the gathering rounds...

Next it is time to choose how to decorate your wreath.  I chose to do some rosettes that I crocheted..and a few pearls here and there. I also wanted to do a small welcome sign on it, but I wasn’t happy with any of the ones I found. I may be adding to the finished wreath if I find the perfect thing.

The rosettes I made to attach...

The rosettes I made to attach...

Finally I got everything put together and attached a ribbon to the back for hanging…and now it is hanging outside on my porch. Not too bad for my first wreath!

The finished project

The finished project

2 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    VERY NICE!!!

    January 8, 2012 at 4:20 pm

  2. Shuresa

    so cute!!! (:

    January 8, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers