photographing, cooking, laughing through life

#10

When talking to Rebecca this weekend, I mentioned something about it being winter.  She said it wasn’t winter yet because it hadn’t snowed…well, it is officially winter now. Last night we had our first snow of the season.  It started with flurries at about 5:45 and became full-fledged snow throughout the night.  Of course, it wasn’t enough snow to cancel school in Emporia (but it very rarely is). We always hold out hope, but most of the time we end up in school each day.

I took today’s photo after school at my house.  After holding up on the snowfall for a few hours, it started to snow again about the time school was dismissed. I’m always trying to get my students to look for unusual angles and to use rule of thirds when taking their pictures, so in today’s picture I tried to do that.  I took quite a few pictures today, and almost chose a standard snowy tree picture for today’s photo, but really liked how this picture turned out – you can tell it’s snowing and it showcases one of my least favorite things about my house…the stupid tree with the spiny ball seeds on it – the most annoying tree in the world! I do think it looks like there is a little hat sitting on top of the seed, which makes it look a little whimsical.

So, to commemorate the first snow of the season…a picture of snow. Maybe if it keeps snowing we’ll have a snow day tomorrow…but I won’t hold my breath!

Snow!

Snow!

2 responses

  1. C. Shaw

    great pic! where is this tree at? I don’t remember it!

    January 10, 2011 at 4:11 pm

  2. Danielle Anliker

    This looks like it should belong in a magazine! Great shot.

    January 10, 2011 at 7:37 pm

Leave a Reply

