photographing, cooking, laughing through life

#17

Even though my students (and other teachers in my family…) were enjoying a 3 day weekend, those of us who teach in USD 253 were “lucky” enough to have inservice today. For some of our professional learning days this year we have done days where we have the option of selecting from a variety of different classes and then are assigned to activities for 6 sessions.

Today my activities were actually ones I had signed up for, so it was a pretty good day.  This morning wasn’t my most exciting class (it was about creating technology rich classrooms…and if you know even a little bit about journalism you know that it is ALL about technology). It was nice to get some new resources…but I didn’t get a ton out of it.

One of the best things about inservice days (well…maybe one of the only good things about them) is that we actually have the opportunity to be like the rest of the world and have an actual lunch – one that is longer than 25 minutes, and that means we get to go out! As a teacher, lunch is usually heating up a leftover or having a peanut butter and jelly sandwich (minus the peanut butter because we are a nut free zone…) so anytime we get the chance to enjoy a nice lunch out, it’s a plus. Today, Amanda, Tara and I decided to forgo the usual La Ha or Shanghai and had some sushi (and the first photo in my blog taken with my cell phone) – what a great choice! Fresh and light..and I went into the afternoon ready to learn more.

A little sushi...

A little sushi...

 

Boy am I glad I didn’t have something heavy for lunch! My first session after lunch was great and I wasn’t feeling that normal afternoon blah feeling.  I have been hearing quite a bit about Kagan strategies and was in a Kagan introduction session.  Such a VALUABLE session! From the 50 minute session I have at least 6 different strategies I can put into practice tomorrow in my classroom.  I am so glad it was one of the activities I got to do today. The presenters did a great job and I can’t wait to sign up for more Kagan instruction in the future.  I learned some new techniques in word from Sarah in the advanced word session…may have to make some charts using smart art! Finally, I ended the day with the health fair.

All in all it was a good day…not as great as a day off would have been, but a girl can dream!

Kagan

Kagan

 

 

3 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    I just don’t know about sushi?!

    January 17, 2011 at 5:09 pm

  2. Cyndy

    Where did you get sushi in Emporia? Looks good!

    January 17, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    • They opened a place next to the Subway by campus. I was a little apprehensive at first, but I LOVE it!

      January 17, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Leave a Reply

