photographing, cooking, laughing through life

#18

I have been playing the piano since first grade, it’s something I enjoy doing and I really wish I had my own piano so I could play at home whenever I want.  It’s something that relaxes me and something I’m really glad my parents started me on at an early age (even though I’m pretty sure the only reason I really wanted to play was because my big sister did.) As a piano player I’ve been asked to play for things like Vacation Bible School, and on the piano I’m pretty comfortable…however the same cannot be said for the organ.

About 3 years ago Lea (the main organist at my church) asked if I would consider playing the organ for services sometimes to give her and Jan (the other organist) a break every once in awhile. I knew the organ and the piano were VERY different instruments, so I told her that I would try to work with it a little and see how I felt about it. Well, the day finally arrived where both Lea and Jan were busy, and it was my turn. I have NEVER been so nervous in my entire life.  I practiced multiple times leading up to the service, but when the service started my heart was beating so fast and my hands were shaking so much that it was a near disaster…at least in my opinion, but I survived.

Since that time I’ve been slowly worked into the normal organ schedule and now play at least once a month.  I’m still not quite what I would call comfortable playing, but it is getting a lot easier.  I will tell you, I am going to miss the Christmas tree as I play the next two Sundays…it’s so much easier to play when you can hide behind the tree! I really wish I would have the time to put in the practice that playing the organ requires…but until we are able to negotiate another 2-3 hours in a day, I will have to just do my best.

Today’s picture is an extreme close up of the stops on our pipe organ at church. I’m becoming more at ease with working them and changing them during songs, but I don’t even want to get into the pedal work! That adds an entire different level that I’m trying to master…but it’s a slow process! I just can’t get my brain, hands and feet all on the same page at the same time…but I’m determined to conquer the pedals…someday!

My Everest...I'll "stop" at nothing to conquer it!

My Everest...I'll "stop" at nothing to conquer it!

2 responses

  1. C. Shaw

    You will get this down one day! I still need to give you a mini-lesson!

    January 18, 2011 at 9:40 pm

  2. Dee Schwinn

    Bad pun–nothing will “stop” you!!!

    January 18, 2011 at 9:47 pm

Leave a Reply

