photographing, cooking, laughing through life

#38

With another impending snow storm (one weather station predicts 2-3 inches, another up to 12 for Emporia) I made the weekly trip to the grocery store to stock up.  Because of the cold weather, I decided that today called for a nice, warm soup…and I knew which quick and easy soup I would make…Cheesy Chicken Enchilada soup.

I found this recipe in a Pillsbury magazine at some point. It is THE EASIEST soup I have made (besides just pouring a pre-made soup from a can). It is super simple to make and doesn’t really use that many ingredients. All you need are:

2 cans reduced fat cream of chicken soup

1 can enchilada (10 oz.) sauce (mild, medium or hot – depending on how you like it)

2 cups milk

1 cup cheese (they suggest reduced fat NOT fat free)

1 pkg. southwest seasoned chicken strips (I’ve used deli rotisserie chicken before too – just whatever you have)

The Ingredients

The Ingredients

Next…all you do is put all of the ingredients into a 3 quart sauce pan and heat on medium heat until the cheese is melted.  It makes five 2-cup servings and really warms you up! It also makes good leftovers (luckily, because I will have it for lunch the rest of the week!) You can top the soup with tortilla strips or crushed tortilla chips prior to serving.

The finished product...YUM!

The finished product...YUM!

I really like this because it’s super fast and easy and tastes like you spent a lot longer making it.  Later tonight I’m going to prep another new recipe to try for tomorrow…Slow Cooked Sweet ‘n’ Sour Pork.  It will be some work tonight to get it ready, but it will be worth it tomorrow when I get home to a delicious supper in the slow cooker!

4 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Picture of the ingredients is nice. Have you ever let me taste this? Looks good.

    February 7, 2011 at 6:48 pm

  2. Danielle Anliker

    This looks just like the enchilada soup I ordered from Chili’s. Tortilla chips and all!

    February 7, 2011 at 9:42 pm

  3. Cammy C

    I actually made this last night. It was quite good and SOOO easy! Thank you for sharing this recipe, Laura! I am enjoying reading your blog! I spiced this recipe up with a can of green chillies and served it over a bed of spinach…because we needed something green and healthy mixed it with all that creamy deliciousness! We also used organic milk (a nutritionist recently told us that dairy is the most important thing to buy organic due to pesticide and artificial hormone build-up in a cow’s milk ducts) and Quorn grilled Chik’n Tenders instead of actual chicken. It was enjoyed by all four of us! 🙂

    February 9, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    • I’m glad you liked it! I have also mixed in rotel or green chillies when I’ve made it before too…the original recipe doesn’t call for it, but I think it adds a great texture to the soup (I just didn’t have any this time!) Glad you enjoyed it. I’ll have to try it on spinach next time – sounds GREAT!

      February 9, 2011 at 12:53 pm

Leave a Reply

