photographing, cooking, laughing through life

#45

As all of us know (I mean how could we not) today is Valentine’s Day.  Sure, I could have taken a picture of those sugary sweets that everyone buys, or a card or two, or the standard flowers.  However, for me, Valentine’s Day is a little more nostalgic…from watching “The First Valentine” at church (who remembers that great movie?! and it’s on netflix!) to the bags we used to decorate in elementary school…Valentine’s Day holds some pretty old school memories.

As my niece celebrated her first school Valentine’s Day at preschool today, I got to thinking about Village School and my Valentine’s Day memories there…There was my first elementary Valentine’s Day…a day I was missed because I was at the hospital. I remember still getting all of the Valentines from my classmates and a Lady (from Lady and the Tramp) stuffed dog. All of the other years are filled with decorating big white bags for our cards, buying cards to give everyone in the class and of course awesome treats. We even made some Valentine’s Day bags a few years ago in one of my production classes…good times.

Because I was feeling nostalgic, I decided to take a quick trip back to good old Village School to take a few photos for today.  Of course the building has gone through a few additions and changes since I was there (let’s not say how many years ago)…and even though I could have, I decided to stick to a few outside shots of the school instead of heading inside.

"Take a look around you..."

"Take a look around you..."

There are so many memories from elementary school, there is no way to share them all here…there was the school song…and the 5th Grade Recognition when one of my classmates fainted off the top of the risers and broke Megan’s viola, there were the plaques that all of us made to decorate the school…that are still there today, there were the banana trees that bore fruit one year when I was there and we all got to try, there was the special chair in music class when it was your birthday – and the opportunity to play the musical instrument of your choice…so many memories, so many friendships, and some great teachers!

One thing that has changed quite a bit is the playground…the other photos I have on here today are 2 of the only 5 pieces of equipment that remain from my years at Village. The first picture is of the swings on the east side of the school – the ONLY thing besides the tether ball poles that were there when I was in school.

Swings!

Swings!

Then the other picture is one of the pieces of equipment in the back of the school…the “weird” balance things we had when we were there – I don’t think they ever got played on much even when I was in school…except to just sit on them and talk.

What is this?

What is this?

That’s it…crazy isn’t it – the only equipment left from when I was in school. No more spider web, no more tornado slide, no big red tower to climb (only 5 allowed on top), none of the wooden equipment that we sold chili supper tickets to buy…all of it’s gone. No more big tires in the sand pit that our entire class could fit in. Even the big, HUGE tree that used to be in the playground got knocked down by a microburst a few years ago. However, even though those things are gone, there are still the memories from the fun days in that playground!

6 responses

  1. Cyndy

    Alan still mourns the loss of the spider web and tornado slide!

    I really enjoy reading your blog. I like it because you vary your posts about food, family, friends, work, and more. Always interesting!

    February 14, 2011 at 6:53 pm

  2. Dee Schwinn

    A trip back in time…

    February 14, 2011 at 7:09 pm

  3. Amanda

    Oh…gosh i so remember riding bikes over to go play on all those…oh those were the days!

    February 14, 2011 at 10:16 pm

  4. Sara

    I know, I’m late at replying, but I’m MAD at you for not going inside!!!!!!!! Now we’ll never know if the gardens are still there, or if JFK is still above the water fountains. Are there still the benches to sit on outside the rooms? And THANKS for getting the song stuck in my head!!!!!!!!!!!

    We used to use those balance things when were were playing Goonies. They were our escape routes. You guys clearly didn’t have enough imagination : )

    February 19, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    • I’m sure I’ll go inside at some point – now it will have to be sooner rather than later.

      February 19, 2011 at 4:16 pm

  5. I never really understood the concept of that part of the playground… 🙂

    March 26, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Leave a Reply

