photographing, cooking, laughing through life

#46

Today was an interesting day…I had so much going on with the Winter Sports Ceremony, getting the swim team slide show completed, teaching, etc. During seminar today I got an interesting email about the status of my teaching license…let’s just say I had forgotten about it and the deadline is quickly approaching for it to be renewed… Well, with all of the other “stuff” going on in my day, that was definitely the straw that broke the camel’s back…and let’s just say I went into stress overload (and for those of you who know me pretty well…you can imagine what that means).

The day didn’t get any easier – I had to get decorations and the ceremony supplies ready for the crowning at the game, I had to get lesson plans completed for tomorrow (so I can take care of my license issue), I had to take a wrestling team photo, and I also had to announce the game. Well, thanks to a lot of help from my Spartan Club co-sponsor, Amanda, and some students everything got accomplished after school and it was game time.

I have and have had some of the best students over my years of teaching.  Whenever I need help getting something completed, they always step in to help – and when I have a bad day, they know just how to make me feel better. Tonight prior to the boys’ game, I went over to ask a couple students some questions and “the boys” pulled out a bouquet of tulips and a card for me…just because they knew I’d had a bad day.  Even though I didn’t really have time to thank them at the time, I want to say “thanks” to them now for making my day a little brighter.

Ironically I named my blog “the seeds you plant” based off of the Robert Louis Stevenson quote, “Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds you plant,” as a reminder that as a teacher each day may not be the best, but I am planting seeds every day.  The card the boys got me has these words on it. “If you feel you have only a small amount of faith to plant…plant it. In time it will grow so large it won’t leave any room for doubt.” How appropriate that the students I have taught would give me a card that fully represents what I am trying to do with them – plant seeds…maybe today wasn’t so bad after all! Thanks Boys!

...the seeds you plant

...the seeds you plant

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    AHHHH. The guys were sweet.

    February 15, 2011 at 10:27 pm

Leave a Reply

