photographing, cooking, laughing through life

#95

Today, after school…and errands…and voting…I decided to take Hank to a new place to walk. I enjoy taking him for walks, but I’ve found that he has a hard time focusing when we walk around my house…so today, we went to Soden’s Grove and walked around by the zoo.  It was actually a really great place to walk – not too busy, and Hank had a blast smelling all the new smells…and even making some “friends” with some of the animals.

Today’s photo is a photo I had to take because it reminded me of a book from my childhood. The book was a book of poetry written by now Children’s Poet Laureate, Mary Ann Hoberman.  Her poetry is fun poetry for kids to read and memorize – and although the poem that I always think of, entitled “The Llama Who Had No Pajama” was one that was too long for me to memorize…I have ALWAYS thought of that poem each time I see a llama.  There is now a larger collection of her poetry (larger than the one I had) that is actually called “The Llama Who Had No Pajama” but the one I had was called “Yellow Butter, Purple Jelly, Red Jam, Black Bread” and the poem of the same name is one that I remember the best from the collection.

“Yellow Butter, Purple Jelly, Red Jam, Black Bread” by Mary Ann Hoberman

Yellow butter, purple jelly, red jam, black bread.

Spread it thick, say it quick.

Yellow butter, purple jelly, red jam, black bread.

Spread it thicker, say it quicker

Yellow butter, purple jelly, red jam, black bread.

Now repeat it while you eat it.

Yellow butter, purple jelly, red jam, black bread.

Don’t talk with your mouth full!

I don’t know why, but I always loved that poem…and it’s really easy to memorize.  I did some searching and found a website where Hoberman reads some of her poetry (check it out here). At the end of the video I watched, Hoberman said something that I thought was a good sentiment. She said, “Every day take time to start, to learn a little poem by heart.” I think that might be something I could try…but first I need to go to my parents’ house and find that book of poems again!

The Llama Who Had No Pajama

The Llama Who Had No Pajama

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    I threw away two bags of “stuff” today….no books though so you might be in luck.

    April 5, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

