photographing, cooking, laughing through life

#110

One of the “joys” of owning my own home is getting to mow the lawn.  With the weather finally nice today – and the promise of rain coming through the weekend, I knew it was now or never. After picking up more of the “gumballs” from the sweet gum tree and taking care of the fallen limbs, it was time to get out the mower and start.  I decided to start in the front yard, so I pushed the mower to the front and after a couple of tries, started it up.

Well, when I started moving forward, I was greeted by a new friend…and let’s just say I was not too pleased by my new acquaintance. I am not what you would call a huge fan of snakes, so this was not a welcome visitor.  He must have been curled up in the mower and he was NOT pleased when I disturbed his “home.”  He was really just a harmless garter snake, but it still freaks me out a little…and of course, i had to snap a picture for today’s blog.

Even though I wanted to stay away from him – the whole, I’ll mind my business, you mind your business – Hank was all about “playing” with the snake.  So, in order to save the snake’s life…yes, even though I don’t like them, I don’t necessarily want to see them die…I had to get Hank to the backyard – much to his chagrin. After all of the excitement of the start of mowing, the rest was downhill. I just hope that the snake doesn’t decide to use the mower as a home again. I could do without the same excitement each time.

There's a snake in my boot...well, not quite...

There's a snake in my boot...well, not quite...

3 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    I get chills just looking at him…

    April 20, 2011 at 9:11 pm

  2. Danielle Anliker

    I hope that camera had an excellent zoom and you were really farther away that that!

    April 20, 2011 at 10:03 pm

  3. Sara

    I am never coming to your house again. : )

    April 21, 2011 at 7:18 am

Leave a Reply

