photographing, cooking, laughing through life

#130

I am sooooo ready for the summer to start.  With deadlines looming in newspaper tomorrow, and in yearbook the next 3 weeks, I am looking forward to having a few days where I can relax, do some gardening, and really focus on finding really good shots for this blog.  I really want to make this summer a time where I truly get a chance to grow in my photography.

Although I haven’t had a chance to really plant any flowers, I do have some perennials that I get to enjoy this time of year.  I talked on Sunday about how my peonies were about to bloom, and sure enough, they are now blooming like crazy (with my roses about to burst too). Tonight’s photo is of one of my peony bushes blooming.  Whenever I see peonies, I think of my great grandparent’s graves in Lincoln. Whenever we visit them for memorial day, we always check to make sure the peonies have bloomed.  My grandpa has also planted one for my grandma as well. It is nice that these flowers can remind me of people who were important in my life.

Peonies

Peonies

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Your great grandma always said–if there is a peony bush there will always be flowers there for Memorial Day…

    May 10, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Leave a Reply

