photographing, cooking, laughing through life

#225

For the first time in 87 years when the bell rang to start school across USD 253, there was one building that remained silent. That building was Lowther South. Last year with all of the economic turmoil that the entire nation is facing and the school population decline that our district is facing, some tough decisions had to be made. One of those decisions was to restructure the way the buildings were configured in the district…closing both the 5th grade building and the 6th building (once the middle school addition is completed). I know that this decision makes sense in the long run, but I also am sad to see those building close. The buildings hold so much tradition….thousands of students have walked those halls in the last century…and the north building will close just two years shy of a century of educating Emporia students. I just hope that I get a chance to visit the north building before the doors close…just one last visit to a building that meant so much to so many people.

All quiet

All quiet

4 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Like starting a 40 year teaching career in the north building…

    August 13, 2011 at 9:23 pm

  2. Sherry Renfro

    It is very nostalgic; my mother went to school there, I went to school there, my children went to school there, and my grandddaughter went to school there. Sad, indeed.

    August 13, 2011 at 10:27 pm

  3. Cyndy Moneymaker

    Thank you for this post and wonderful picture! Alan had his best year of school at LSIS (thank you Kay Carl!) and I loved working there. As a parent I liked the transition that LSIS and LNIS provided; baby steps out of elementary school and then a year to prep for EMS. Although a cost saver I’m sad the fifth grade was crammed back into the elementary schools. Could you email this picture to me? I tried to save it but it appears as a thumbnail in my pictures. cyndy.moneymaker@gmail.com

    August 14, 2011 at 8:46 am

  4. Cyndy Moneymaker

    I forgot to add, I hope you do visit before LNIS closes. I went to both buildings in May so I could see all my friends. Monica Bond and I walked each floor of LSIS and cried a few tears together. I’m so glad I was able to be there one more time.

    August 14, 2011 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

