photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Portobello Mushroom Pizzas

After having a great Christmas – and visiting family across the state – it was nice to wake up this morning and not really have any plans.  I’d survived the last week or so without any real food in my house – eating with family or grabbing something quick to eat on the way home – and so today I thought I would actually cook something. While I was looking through some cookbooks today deciding what to put on my grocery list I noticed a recipe that I have made before and truly liked…portobello mushroom pizzas.

Now, if you like mushrooms (and I love them) this is a super simple and delicious recipe that is actually pretty good for you at the same time! You only need a few ingredients…

Portobello mushroom caps

spaghetti sauce (I used “Light Ragu Tomato and Basil”)

low fat shredded mozzarella cheese

turkey sausage (or whatever kind of sausage you prefer)

any other “pizza” toppings you might like

Then, you are ready to put the pizzas together.

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Clean off mushroom caps and place gill side up on a baking dish

3. Spoon sauce onto mushroom and then sprinkle with other toppings

4. Cook in the oven for 6-8 minutes or until cheese is melted.

5. Enjoy!

One of the good things about this recipe is you can make as many or as few as you want…and if you have family members who aren’t fans of mushrooms, they can make traditional personal pizzas or pizzas on biscuits or whatever with the same ingredients!

The finished product

The finished product

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    those look yummy. Dad and I were wondering how you make them.

    December 27, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Leave a Reply

