photographing, cooking, laughing through life

New Year. New Challenge. New Post. (#1)

Welcome to 2012 everybody! As those of you who have followed me since last January 1 know, I started a 365 day photo project last year…and didn’t quite make it. This year will be THE year.  So, as the new year begins, I will begin how I started it all last year…with a self-portrait. One suggestion I have seen is to take a portrait of yourself once a month. I will once again designate the first of the month to be the self-portrait post. It is good for me to be “in front” of the camera every once in a while to see how I have changed as the year has progressed.  Some of my self portraits will be a bit more abstract, but today a view that many people are used to seeing of me…me behind the camera.

If you remember my first post from last year, one thing has changed in this picture…I have a new camera! I still love my Canon, but I thought I would branch into the Nikon world and have enjoyed learning the ins and outs of my Nikon.  I am also changing a few things I do on my blog this year. Of course there will be photos every day (and I will make it this year!) but I’m also going to post book reviews from books that I have read…I’ve set a goal to read 60 books in 2012, so I hope to share with you my thoughts about the books I read (and if anyone has any suggestions on books I should read…let me know!) Secondly, I will continue to post recipes every once in awhile…recipes I have made for many years…and recipes I am going to test out this year to see if I like.  Finally, I hope to show you a “pinspiration” post once a week…a post of something I was inspired to do by pintrest.  Some days (like a post that will come either later tonight or tomorrow) will be a quick project that I did in an afternoon and some will be projects that I will work on for awhile and then share the posts with you.

Thanks for following my journey through another year…I hope you enjoy!

Photographer, shoot thyself.

Photographer, shoot thyself.

5 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    So the year begins. Good luck on your goals. Love you.

    January 1, 2012 at 6:53 pm

  2. Sherry Renfro

    Well, I am on the outlook for future gifts. Shella loved them. Keep up the good work.

    January 1, 2012 at 7:08 pm

  3. Cyndy Moneymaker

    I’m excited to read your book reviews and recipes!

    Here are a few books I’ve read lately that I really enjoyed.
    The Red Tent, Anita Diamant
    To Be Sung Underwater, Tom McNeal
    The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, Carson McCullers (this was a re-read…loved it again)
    Firefly Lane, Kristin Hannah (like all her books)
    The Story of Beautiful Girl, Rachel Simon (not quite finished but great so far)

    Happy New Year!

    January 1, 2012 at 8:27 pm

  4. Cyndy – Thanks for the book suggestions! I enjoy Kristin Hannah as well. I just finished “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak…need something lighter to read for my next book. I’ll look up the ones you suggested!!

    January 1, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    • Cyndy Moneymaker

      I’ll put “The Book Thief” on reserve at our library. I’m always looking for my next few books. Some of those I listed are not light but all good reads. Happy reading!

      January 2, 2012 at 8:11 am

Leave a Reply

