photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Time to get motivated; it begins. #8

The inspiration for today’s post comes from the fact that the semester really and truly begins for me tomorrow. In reality the semester is already three days old, and truth be told, I did teach for a day last week, but with the bowl game it doesn’t feel like it has really started.

Living in Emporia, I am always surrounded by inspiration for being a god teacher. First, I have wonderful colleagues who I get to work with on a daily basis. Secondly, I get to see tons of interns and student teacher through Emporia State who area always so excited about teaching that you can’t help but be excited with them.  Then there is the National Teachers Hall of Fame (housed at ESU), and the truly inspiring members who are part of the hall of fame. Finally, because I teach in my hometown, I am also inspired by all of the great educational memories I had growing up…today’s photo comes from that inspiration.

At ESU there is a one room schoolhouse that classes can visit to get the experience of what school was like during the pioneer times.  I will never forget visiting the one room schoolhouse in elementary school. We had class in the building, played old time games at recess and had a really fun day going back in time. I felt like Laura Ingalls Wilder (from “Little House on the Prairie”) going to school in that one room schoolhouse for one day. How fun!!

Elementary school memories

Elementary school memories

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    That’s where I wanted to teach–a one room school..didn’t quite make it . I am reading a book now about teachers in one room schools!!

    January 8, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Leave a Reply

