photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Tough loss…I still bleed purple. #6

Today started with a visit to one of the new members of the Big XII.  I have traveled to all of the Big XII schools – which is really fun to do. Maybe it is the geeky teacher in me, but I think it is cool to see the different campuses.  We visited the university (I guess we can accept the Horned Frogs…they have a “Wabash” street on their campus) and I picked up a key chain to add to my Big XII collection (have to take a few of the old ones off).  After that, we headed to the Fort Worth Stockyards.

The Historic Fort Worth Stock Yards

The Historic Fort Worth Stock Yards

What a FUN area! The stock yards were a fun way to spend the morning…and we weren’t the only K-State fans who decided to visit them! Everywhere you looked it was purple (which is a lot of fun). There were a lot of cute shops, statues, activities, restaurants, etc. at the stock yards.  Sara and I walked around, did some shopping (she bought Rebecca a pink guitar), watched the longhorns “parade” around the neighborhood, I saw one of my students, we took lots of pictures, and had a great lunch. Then after a little more shopping…it was time to head to the game.

These boots are made for walking...

These boots are made for walking...

Before the game, we got to hang out with some good friends. It is always great to see friends that you don’t get to see enough, so it was nice to spend a little time with Barb and Matt before heading into the stadium.  The stadium is ENORMOUS.  I mean, I knew it was big, but HOLY COW! And that TV! Wow.  Anyway, it was great to be part of the atmosphere during the Cotton Bowl. What a great opportunity for the players, fans and university to be able to be a part of this bowl when we were only supposed to finish 8th in the Big XII and finished 8th in the BCS.  I had a great time watching our team this season…and even though we lost I’m still proud to be a Wildcat!

Here are a few pics from the game:

Our view...and the GINORMOUS TV

Our view...and the GINORMOUS TV

 

Warm-ups...with Coach Snyder

Warm-ups...with Coach Snyder

The Pride of Wildcat Land!

The Pride of Wildcat Land!

The Palace in Dallas

The Palace in Dallas

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Glad you got to go!!

    January 8, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Leave a Reply

