photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Time changes everything; fact of life. #12

A few months ago my grandma had a mild heart attack.  With the attack it was decided that it would be better if she lived with some assistance instead of at home. For the first part of her recovery, she lived in a care home in Leavenworth, but about a week before Christmas, Grandma moved to Emporia.

I know it was hard for her to leave Leavenworth (and the area she had called home for her entire life) and I know that the situation isn’t ideal, but, for me, it is exciting to actually get to spend more time with her.  I’ve never lived in the same town as any of my grandparents – we actually live (somewhat) centrally located between Lincoln and Leavenworth – about 2 hours to see each. Now, I get to see my grandma at least every Sunday, sometimes more often than that.

I know that she misses her home, and I know that she would jump at the chance to be able to go back, but it is such a gift to get to spend time with her…and to know that she is being taken care of.

Today’s picture is a photo of my grandma that I took today so she could send it back to her home church in Leavenworth for their directory.  Today (obviously) is Thursday, and the day that the hair stylist comes to the care center – so Grandma got pampered today, and she wore one of her new outfits…and she got her picture taken. When she took a look at it after I had taken it, she joked and said, “It doesn’t even look like me!”

My grandma.

My grandma.

4 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Nice blog.

    January 12, 2012 at 8:44 pm

  2. Cyndy Moneymaker

    Lucky Grandma to be in Emporia with you and your family. Cute picture!

    January 13, 2012 at 8:22 am

  3. Sarah L

    What a great picture!!!

    January 13, 2012 at 8:39 am

  4. Sara

    Good picture, although I think it would look better if she had roses coming out of her head…

    January 13, 2012 at 10:10 am

Leave a Reply

