photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Chicken in the Slow Cooker

I’ve been blogging a lot today, but I have one more to post before I’m done for the day.  This recipe is so easy and delicious, that I couldn’t help but post it! You literally need 5 ingredients for this basic recipe (although I added a few/changed one for mine even though it would be delicious with the original ingredients).

Here are the basic 5:

Rice, Cream Cheese, Italian dressing seasoning packet, Cream of Chicken Soup and Chicken Breasts

Rice, Cream Cheese, Italian dressing seasoning packet, Cream of Chicken Soup and Chicken Breasts

First you need to put the seasoning packet, cream cheese and cream of chicken soup into the crock pot. Heat for about 30 minutes on low and mix together.

Ready for the chicken!

Ready for the chicken!

Then, add in the chicken (I added 3 chicken breasts…but the recipe suggested 2-4) and cook on high for 4-6 hours. I decided to add some mushrooms to mine in the last hour (because I had them in the refrigerator and wasn’t sure when I would use them). I also cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces with about an hour left to cook. I would have diced the chicken before I started cooking, but they were frozen…so I had to wait.

Then it was time to decided what to put the chicken on…the recipe suggested rice, but I know others who have made this and put it over pasta, so I decided to serve it over angel hair pasta. It was super good…and REALLY easy.  The only problem is I can’t make it on a school day because I am gone WAY longer than 4-6 hours!

Here is the finished product…and I have plenty of leftovers to enjoy during the rest of the week!

I also added a little parmesan cheese on top.

I also added a little parmesan cheese on top.

*I used reduced fat/sodium cream cheese and cream of chicken soup to lighten it up a bit…

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Looks totally yummy…If you get tired of the left overs…..you know where I live.

    January 15, 2012 at 8:35 pm

Leave a Reply

