photographing, cooking, laughing through life

“Pin”spiration Week 3 – Snowman

Another Sunday, another craft item inspired by Pintrest.  This week was one I was really excited to try…this SUPER-cute snowman was actually really easy and I had most of the items around my house already.

Isn't he cute?!

Isn't he cute?!

For this project you need: 1. Yarn 2. Burlap (or another item to use for the scarf) 3. Furniture tacks (or buttons) 4. Thin wire.

First, you need to make the body – the original directions said to wrap yarn around Styrofoam balls, but I have TONS of white yarn lying around, so I just made the ball completely out of yarn.  I made mine approximately 2, 3 and 4 inches in diameter.  After you have completed each, hot glue them together.

Next, decorate the snowman with the buttons and scarf…then it’s time for the arms and hat.  I bought some 19-gauge wire at Bluestem for about $3. Twist the arms into the shapes you want and then insert them in the sides of your snowman. I secured the arms with a little hot glue so they would stay in place.  Then it was time for the hat…which is definitely the hardest part. Find two different objects about the size you want for your hat.  I used a water battle and a spice container (obviously went to the kitchen to find my objects). Then wrap around the larger object, securing with the end of the wire…and continue on to the smaller object for the top part of the hat.  Next, secure the top part with a small piece of wire to make sure that the “spring” doesn’t go too crazy.  Then you just attach the hat to the snowman.

I have plenty of supplies to make some more snowmen…might be a possible present for next Christmas or something to donate for the Oktoberfest craft sale…we’ll see!

 

 

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    As I said before–very cute.

    January 15, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

