photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Cream Cheese Chicken Chili

Even though it is so nice out, I have still been in the mood for some chili and when I stumbled upon this recipe, I knew I wanted to try it because it looked delicious and couldn’t be any simpler.

The ingredients you need are:

2 frozen chicken breasts, 1 can of corn, 1 can of black beans, 1 can rotel, 1 package ranch dressing mix, 1 package cream cheese, 1 T. chili powder and 1 tsp. cumin

Directions:

1. VERY IMPORTANT – put in a slow cooker liner – it will save your life! Next, put two chicken breasts on the bottom of the slow cooker, rinse black beans – and then dump the beans, corn and rotel on top of the chicken.  Finally add the ranch packet, chili powder and cumin and then place the cream cheese on top.

Okay...so it doesn't look great at this point...

2. Set the slow cooker on low and let it start cooking for a few hours. Mix in the cream cheese with the rest of the ingredients once it starts to melt.

Starting to look and smell great!

3. Cook on low for a total of 6-8 hours.  When you are almost ready to serve, shred the chicken with two forks and mix back into the chili.

YUM!

This chili was fantastic and it makes 4 large servings.  You can double the recipe if you are serving a larger group.  I also did mine with low fat cream cheese to cut some calories.  It seemed a little thick this time, so I might try to add in another can of rotel or cream of mushroom or chicken soup to make it “soupier” next time.  I got my recipe for this HERE if you want to see the original directions.  I omitted the onion powder because I didn’t have any in my cupboard.

Can’t wait to enjoy the leftovers tomorrow!

2 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Looks good. Nice bowl!

    January 29, 2012 at 6:30 pm

  2. Sherry

    Looks and sounds delicious. I might have to try it.

    January 29, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

