photographing, cooking, laughing through life

“Pin”spiration Week #5 BONUS – T-Shirt Scarf

I got a whim last night to make another project this week…and it was quick, fun and easy.  I also wanted to make it because it is spirit week at EHS…and it also added to my obsession with scarves…

This project literally takes less than 45 minutes from start to finish and is a great way to use up some old t-shirts (I have PLENTY of those at my house).

All you will need for this project are:

T-Shirts in whatever color you choose (the directions I saw said 4) and scissors.

First, you need to cut the hem off of each t-shirt and save it for later. Then, cut 8 strips (about 3/4″ wide) – side note: I will probably cut them a little thinner next time I make one. Do this with every shirt so you have 32 strips total.

It doesn't matter if you don't cut perfectly straight...obviously mine are not perfect.

After you cut the strips in each color, take each loop and stretch it a few times. Then, wrap the strips around your hand. The tighter you wrap, the smaller your loops and the more loops it will take to make your scarf.  If you wrap the loops around something larger, you will probably not need all 32 loops.

After making a few I got the feel for how big I wanted to make mine.

You will end up with 32 loops in all four colors.

Time to connect them together!

Next, cut the hems into about 5″ strips and use them to connect each loop together. I decided to do mine in a pattern.

Starting the pattern.

Continue attaching more loops until your scarf is the length you want.

Ready for some Spartan games!

The website with the pattern has tons of other t-shirt scarf patterns, so I’m sure I’ll be trying some other ones!

2 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Very nice.

    January 29, 2012 at 9:34 pm

  2. Danielle Anliker

    Matt’s mom made me one for Christmas out of Matt’s old K-State t-shirts, needless to say, I LOVE it!

    January 30, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

