photographing, cooking, laughing through life

What about the one left behind? #33

In searching for a subject for today’s photo, I drove down the interstate from the Merchant St. exit to the Industrial exit and noticed that there were quite a few Canadian Geese on the pond at Jones Park.  After Hank and I spent about half an hour at the dog park, we made our way to Jones to see if the geese were still there, and they were!

I left Hank in the car, because Hank + a flock of geese = a bad idea, and headed towards the pond.  I snapped a few pictures of the geese on the pond and then the honking started. I figured they would start getting annoyed with me bothering them, and sure enough, after a couple minutes of honking they took off. They were so graceful and it was interesting to see how synchronized they were with their takeoff. I was lucky enough to get a picture of them beginning their flight and that is today’s first picture.

In flight...

As exciting as it was to see them all take off, as I looked back at the pond, I was surprised to see there was a lone goose left on the pond. It got me wondering if there was something wrong with the goose. He had been kind of separate from the flock when they were in the water and he seemed so alone when he was just sitting there on the pond that had just been full of about 20 birds. I didn’t stick around much longer after they took off, but I couldn’t help but wonder about the one left behind…would they come back for him, were the other birds staying close by and would he catch up with them later?

All alone.

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    the first picture is totally awesome…the second is a little sad–

    February 2, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Leave a Reply

