photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Cake Balls

Over Christmas, I decided to try to make some Oreo balls – and they were a total success. So, today, I thought I’d try some cake balls.  There are many different recipes out there, but I thought I’d try the one that looked the easiest. For my first time, I think it went okay – I ran out of white chocolate, so I didn’t completely finish up the process, but I have the rest of them waiting in the freezer for when I get some more tomorrow – and I will try to decorate the ones for tomorrow a little better too.

Here’s the recipe –

You will need the following ingredients:

Cake Mix (and the ingredients to make the cake - in my case oil and eggs), frosting, almond bark (or candy melts), decorations for the finished cake balls.

The first step is to just bake the cake like normal.  I decided to do a chocolate cake for half of the batch and red velvet for the other. In hindsight I should have just made one, but I got all excited and made both cakes…

After the cake is finished (and cool), it is time to crumble it up.

Your hands will get messy in the process of this recipe...but not too messy yet.

Next, it is time to add in your frosting.  For my red velvet cake I chose cream cheese frosting, and for the chocolate cake I chose chocolate frosting. Mix in the frosting so that all of the cake crumbles stick together.

THIS is where it gets messy.

Chill the mixture in the refrigerator for about an hour. Then, it is time to roll the cake pops into balls. I found that the first batch I made I rolled a little large – so try not to make them too big.

These are the second batch I rolled - and I feel like these are a better size than the first ones I rolled.

Put the balls in the freezer (this can be for about an hour or overnight depending on your timetable). When you are ready to finish, melt your candy melts or almond bark and dip the cake balls in the mixture to coat them.  You can either put the cake pops on sticks or just dip the balls and make more “bon bon” type cake pops.

I put my ones on the sticks in a styrofoam base so that they could harden. I am going to try to decorate the ones I finish tomorrow a little better...I will update if they turn out better.

That’s it…you are done.  I would store the pops in the refrigerator until you are ready to eat them…they are pretty good, but a little time consuming and messy!!

Even if they are a lot of work...they are delicious.

One response

  1. Dee Schwin

    They look yummy no matter how much trouble they were.

    February 12, 2012 at 9:48 pm

Leave a Reply

