photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Better Than Sex Cake

Last Monday was a day I was supposed to pick up the newspaper from Topeka.  As much as I don’t really mind going to pick up the paper, I REALLY didn’t want to drive up to Topeka after in-service, so luckily, a friend’s husband picked up the papers for me. I knew that I would need to “sweeten” the deal, so I offered to bake a chocolate cake.  I decided on a cake we used to have at Clovia…Better Than Sex Cake. This rich, chocolatey dessert doesn’t take too much time and is delicious!

Ingredients you will need:

German Chocolate cake mix (oil and eggs - to make the cake), sweet and condensed milk, caramel, whipped topping and Heath bits.

First, bake the cake as normal.  I decided to make mine into two 8×8 cakes – because my friend would kill me if I gave her an entire cake…plus it would have been really hard to make the cake and then give it all away 🙂 After you bake the cake, let it cook for about 5 minutes on a wire rack. While it is cooling slice some slits into the top of the cake.

Make sure to just cut a slit - and don't cut too deep. (I'm not really sure why that makes a difference, but the original directions said that...)

Next, take the can of sweet and condensed milk and about 8 oz. of caramel and heat it over the stove in a saucepan.  Once it is warmed, it’s time to pour it over the cake.

Let the cake soak up all of the caramel and milk while it cools.

Once it is cool, top the cake with a container of whipped topping and then top with the Heath bits.  Refrigerate and then serve!

Delicious!

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    I don’t think I have ever had it…

    February 27, 2012 at 8:00 pm

Leave a Reply

