photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Mushroom Quinoa Salad

I’ve been wanting to try quinoa for awhile, so I decided to jump in today and make a recipe I found on Pinterest.  The original recipe is HERE. This is a vegetarian recipe and I didn’t miss the meat at all! I do need to practice my quinoa cooking technique some, but for my first try I thought it was pretty good (and it makes 1 serving so I won’t be eating it for the next week!)

You will need:

1/2 cup quinoa; 200ml vegetable stock; 1tbsp vegetable or olive oil; 1 shallot, finely chopped; 1 garlic clove, chopped; 6 mushrooms, sliced; 1-2 springs of fresh thyme; 3 sun dried tomatoes, chopped; 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil; salt and freshly ground pepper; fresh parsley

1. Bring vegetable stock to a boil and then add quinoa.  Reheat until boiling again and then let simmer on medium-low until quinoa is cooked.

here goes nothing...

Meanwhile, heat oil in a frying pan and saute onion for 2-3 minutes, add the garlic and fry for another minute. Add sliced mushrooms and season with salt and pepper. Finally, add the thyme leaves. Stir-fry the mushrooms for about 5 minutes, or until soft.

You had me at mushrooms...

In a small bowl, mix the cooked quinoa with mushrooms and tomatoes, mix well. Check the seasoning and add more salt or pepper if you like. Scatter fresh parsley on top and serve

Honestly, I should have let the quinoa cook for a little more, but I was worried I would over cook it… Still, I enjoyed the flavors and can’t wait to try some more quinoa recipes.

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Looks good. What is quinoa? Pasta? rice?

    February 27, 2012 at 7:58 pm

Leave a Reply

