photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Yes, it’s true, I’m a reader. #92

Each new month brings another self-portrait (ugh) for the photo project.  Today the self-portrait shows my love of reading.  I have always been a reader…of course I’m sure that it’s genetic… I remember checking out tons and tons of books from the library as a kid.  During the summer reading program at the library I would set lofty goals of the number of books I would read and I would always crush the goals.  There were the early books, Amelia Bedelia, Mrs. Nelson Goes Missing, Mrs. Piggle Wiggle, The Baby-Sitter’s Club…books have always been a part of my life.

As I grew older and went into education, English (and of course Journalism) were the only option for me because of my love of reading and writing.  There were times in college when I didn’t necessarily WANT to read what was assigned, but I could always get lost in the pages of a “for-fun” book.  There is something so great about reading about places that you can only imagine, or reading about places you have been and you can picture as you read.

Of course, technology has changed the way I, personally, read.  The nook color has been a great addition to my library – allowing me tons and tons of books in one place.  Although I still enjoy reading a “real” book too – and having access to a library every day at school doesn’t hurt either.

Then there are the books that they make into movies, most recently “The Hunger Games.” I read the first one for the first time about 2 years ago and immediately fell in love with it.  I bought a copy and have lent that copy to at least 10 different people so they can enjoy the book as well. I recently read book one again (before I went to see the movie) and it was better than the first time I read it, I think.  It is amazing how polarizing a book – turned movie can be for people.  There are those that haven’t read the book at all that like the movie (but are missing so much), there are those who have read the book and don’t like the movie because it just doesn’t hold true, and there are people like me who loved both the book and the movie and take them as separate stories.  Yes, the movie was based on the book and holds true to the spirit of the novel (unlike some I’ve seen) but it is a story on its own.  They are going to have to change parts, they are going to have to condense things, but having read the book before seeing the movie, I can really appreciate them both.

I recently saw something on Pinterest (imagine that) that showed the 25 books/series to read if you LOVE the Hunger games (link) and have found that I totally agree with the ones they have on the list that I have read.  One I’m currently reading, The Maze Runner, has definitely “sucked me in” and I will probably read a few chapters after I finish today’s post!

 

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Ok…How did you take that..delay?

    April 1, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

