photographing, cooking, laughing through life

My latest favorite meal…like Chipotle! #115

Lately I’ve been trying to eat more healthy, and I found a recipe that I’m currently obsessed with…It’s a “Chipotle” rice bowl.  It is super simple, super fresh and super delicious.  It is basically like a rice bowl from Chipotle, and you can add on whatever ingredients you choose.

I start mine with some brown rice, that I cook according to the directions on the package.  When I’m done cooking the rice, I add in a little cilantro and some lime juice.  For each bowl, I use 1/2 cup of the rice mixture.  Next, I add on some black beans (about 1/2 a cup).  After that, I add on some diced tomatoes, red onions, 1/4 of an avocado and a little bit of my homemade salsa.  It is sooo flavorful, a super-quick meal and completely satisfying – all for a relatively low calorie count (WAY lower than the real Chipotle version).

I have literally had this meal twice a week for the last 3 weeks…YUM!

2 responses

  1. Cyndy Moneymaker

    Looks great! I’m going to try this. Yum!

    April 24, 2012 at 8:59 pm

  2. Dee Schwinn

    We had Swaffor enchilladas…so it was a spanish/mexican night.

    April 24, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Leave a Reply

