photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Pinspiration – Fourth of July Wreath

Today’s pinterest project is a new wreath for my front porch.  Flag Day and The Fourth of July are coming up soon, so I thought there would be nothing better than a flag inspired wreath to grace my porch for the next month or so.  I found the original post HERE and she has much better directions, but I will give you the nitty gritty…

Here’s what you need:

A Styrofoam wreath, red – white – blue felt (I used 6 rectangles of the red and white and 5 of the blue), push pins, scissors…and then white paper (or poster board) and craft wire for the stars.

The first thing you need to do is cut all of your felt into 2 x 2 squares – they don’t have to be exact.

Squares, squares and more squares.

Next take each square and fold it from corner to corner and then corner to corner again to make a triangle like the one below:

This is where I got so excited about making the wreath that I actually stopped taking pictures.  Basically you take each triangle, put a straight pin in the folded tip and attach to the wreath.  You want to put the pieces fairly close together (mine are probably too close). I just kind of estimated on the placement and tried to keep my stripes about the same size…then I left a large space for the blue. If you check out the original post, you will see more specific directions for those parts…

When you finish, it’s time for the stars…I decided to do mine out of poster board, but you could do wooden ones or felt ones…whatever you want.  I pinned a ribbon to the back for a hanger and this is how it turned out:

Love, love, love how it turned out!!!

 

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    I like it. Very nice.

    June 9, 2012 at 9:22 pm

Leave a Reply

