photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Poor old Hank…times are changing.

It has taken me a couple of days to post this because I was pretty upset when I found out…

Here is some background – A few weeks ago I noticed that Hank had been starting to become OBSESSED with water.  If I filled his bowl, he would down it in 30 seconds.  The only way to stop him from drinking was to not give him any water, but then I had to listen to him bark and whine.  He also started having accidents in the house on a regular basis. Unfortunately I was heading out of town and didn’t take him in then.

When I got back, I knew that I really needed to do something about the issue. After some “research” online I was pretty prepared to hear some bad news when I took Hank to the vet.  If you haven’t guessed, the news they gave me was that Hank has diabetes.  So, he is eating some new food, we’re walking a lot more, and he gets insulin injections twice a day.  It was quite a blow to hear the vet say the words, but I’ve discovered I’m not alone in the fact that my pet has diabetes.  Hopefully with the new diet and walking I can get it under control and he won’t have to have the insulin for too long…

The strangest part of this whole experience was picking up the prescription.  Because human insulin works the same on animals, I picked up the prescription at Wal-Mart. When I went to get it, I said my name and there wasn’t anything for me…turns out it was under Hank’s name…how weird is that?!

The good news is that after only two days of the insulin and new food, Hank is SOOO much better.  No accidents, much more active and loving the new food.

5 responses

  1. Sherry Renfro

    Sorry to hear about Hank, but I’m glad he will have a full productive life as a result of his medication. Medical science can be such a wonderful thing. Good luck!

    August 6, 2012 at 7:07 pm

  2. Oh poor Hank! My grandma has a diabetic cat she gives shots too everyday. Hopefully with the right food and all the walking he will be doing better soon.

    August 6, 2012 at 7:11 pm

  3. I also have a dog with diabetes. I pick up his Humulin and syringes at Wal Mart, and they are ALSO under his name. We have been dealing with this for over a year. He also has cataracts and is blind in both eyes. Have had to increase his dosage over time. You can usually tell when he starts waking up earlier or drinking more water again.

    I knew he had diabetes because of increased drinking AND he actually knocked OVER the baby gate that keeps him in his room to go out during the night. Then I knew. . .

    I am lucky to have a neighbor up the block that is willing to come in and feed my dogs and give Rascal his shot when we need to be gone. It really ties you down. Rascal is 10 yrs old and still going strong.

    August 6, 2012 at 7:39 pm

  4. Cyndy Moneymaker

    I’m so sorry but glad you have Hank on the way to feeling better! Our dog, Nicki, has two prescriptions I get at Wal-Mart. It is kind of funny to have the meds in their names!

    August 6, 2012 at 7:40 pm

  5. Dee Schwinn

    Hope he gets better soon. He’s such a good boy!

    August 6, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Leave a Reply

