photographing, cooking, laughing through life

The one where I’m apparently promoting great value products…

Tonight was the night to tackle one of my pins on pinterest…today’s pin was a recipe for Yummy Cheesy Broccoli soup.  You can see the original post HERE or you can read the recipe below. Disclaimer: I didn’t realize until I assembled the ingredients that I bout all Great Value brand products…sorry if this looks like a commercial for their products 🙂

Ingredients you need:

21 oz. chicken broth, 20 oz. frozen broccoli, 1 can rotel, 8 oz. reduced fat easy melt cheese

21 oz. chicken broth, 20 oz. frozen broccoli, 1 can rotel, 8 oz. reduced fat easy melt cheese

You can also add in other ingredients that you might want.  I’ve seen variations with onions, carrots, cauliflower, etc. – you can also add in spices to kick it up a little. I did throw some garlic powder and pepper into mine.

First off, you need to put your chicken broth, rotel and broccoli into a pot and cook for 8 minutes (until broccoli is tender).  I decided that I wanted my broccoli smaller than what it was – so I spent some time cutting the broccoli up once it got tender enough.

broccoli2

While you wait the 8 minutes, cut your 8 oz. of cheese into smaller pieces so it will melt more quickly.

broccoli3

Add in the cheese and allow it to melt completely…then all you have to do is serve it up. It makes about 8 1-cup servings with about 100 calories per serving – not too bad!

broccoli4This was a really easy meal to prepare and it packs a nice little punch with the heat in the rotel.  I’m glad I will have this for leftovers this week!!

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Does look yummy!

    January 6, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Leave a Reply

