photographing, cooking, laughing through life

8 Wonders of Kansas! Commerce

The next topic covered in the 8 Wonders of Kansas! Book centers on the businesses that call Kansas home…I can tell by a quick glance through the list that I have A LOT of places to visit on this list.  Some on the list have been places I’ve wanted to visit for years, others are new and interesting places just introduced to me in the book.

Commerce Winners

1. Big Brutus, West Mineral (MUST see this!)

2. Brant’s Meat Market, Lucas

3. Frontenac Bakery, Frontenac

4.  Hemslojd, Lindsborg

5. MarCon Pies, Washington

* 6.  Moon Marble Company, Bonner Springs * My sister and her family live in Bonner Springs, although I just visited this amazing place for the first time this year.  We saw an amazing demonstration and I could have spent hours looking at all they had in the shop. Great place to visit!)

Image

Demonstration of making a marble

Image

So many marbles!!!

7. Stafford County Flour Mills, Hudson

8. Vonada Stone Company, Sylvan Grove (as a frequent visitor to “post rock country” I’m sure I’ve seen some of the Vonada’s handiwork before!)

Finalists:

Baxter’s Bait and Tackle, Stockton

Bowersock Mills and Power Company, Lawrence

Brookover Feed Yards, Garden City

Cloud Ceramics, Concordia

Cobalt Boats Neodesha

Dessin Fournir, Planville

El Dorado Oil Field, El Dorado

Koerperich Bookbinders, Selden

Mill Creek Antiques, Paxico

Millers of Claflin, Claflin

RANS, Hays

Ringneck Ranch, Tipton

The Grasshopper Company, Moundridge

Wichita Aviation Industry, Wichita

Winter Livestock, Dodge City

* Wolf Creek Generating Station, Burlington *

Not very many of these will probably end up on my travel list for the summer, but it is interesting to learn and read about some of the commerce generated in Kansas.  Other than Big Brutus (which I HAVE to see in my lifetime) are there any others on this list that are must sees from you?

Leave a Reply

