photographing, cooking, laughing through life

2014 Book Review #1 – Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan

Dad Is Fat

For those who don’t know, Jim Gaffigan is a stand-up comedian and actor who is famous for his take on sets on religion, bacon and, of course, Hot Pockets! I have loved his comedy for such a long time that many of his material winds up in my everyday conversations with my sister. He never ceases to make me laugh – even if I’ve heard it a thousand times. So, I knew as soon as I heard that he had written a book, that I would have to read it.

I got the book for Christmas and I didn’t even get past the dedication before I had my first laugh. The book is essentially made up of essays about parenting. Some of the content was familiar to me from his stand-up and some was new.  There were definitely parts of the book that had me smiling from ear to ear – and even laughing out loud – and there were some parts that, as with any book, just didn’t click with me.

Because I’m a fan of Gaffigan, there were times that I could hear his voice clearly in the writing, which was a lot of fun – it also makes me wish that he would release an audio book of this as well! Overall, I thought it was a quick, good read

…and speaking of goodreads…If you are an avid reader like me and don’t belong to a social cataloging site like goodreads (goodreads.com) then you are missing out! I love being able to look through different reviews of books that I’m interested in reading.  I also use it as a way to catalog all of the books that I’ve read.  Each year I put my reading challenge on there (this year it’s a book a week) and get great recommendations from friends and others on the site.  If you are an avid reader, check it out!!

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    I like goodreads as well…thought it had lost my 2013 books, but found them.

    January 3, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Leave a Reply

