photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Everything old is new again…or at least a little new.

For over a quarter of a century (wow, does that make me sound really old?!), I have been a crocheter…okay, technically a person who crochets is called a hooker, but let’s not go there…

My grandma taught me how to crochet (which I talked about in a previous post HERE) when I was about 6 or 7.   The great thing about crocheting is that you can make some pretty fancy projects even if you only know 2-3 stitches.  I’ve made so many things out of single crochets, half-double crochets, double crochets, treble crochets, popcorn stitches…and various combinations of more and more stitches.  I’ve made afghans, hats, scarves, pot holders, towel holders, baby blankets, door stops… So, when I find a project that incorporates something new, it’s always a fun challenge.

I recently found an afghan on Pinterest (HERE) that uses a stitch called the double treble crochet (dtr). I don’t remember ever doing this stitch – and it’s not really too hard.  Here’s how to do a dtr:

  1. Yarn over your hook three times, then insert hook into next stitch.
  2. Yarn over hook and draw yarn through stitch (there will be five loops on the hook)
  3. Loop yarn over hook and draw through two loops (there are now four loops left on the hook).
  4. Yarn over hook and draw through two loops (there are now three loops left on the hook).
  5. Yarn over hook and draw through two loops (there are now two loops left on the hook).
  6. Again, loop yarn over hook and draw through the last two loops on the hook (there is now one loop left.)
  7. Ta-da!! You did a double treble crochet!

The stitch is a little time consuming especially because the pattern I’m doing has you do stitches both in front of and behind the dtr, but I think it’s looking pretty cool so far. I wonder how long it will take me to finish the afghan! Here’s hoping it’s done before winter is over!

crochet

 

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Ta Da…Not me. You lost me at yarn over hook…Ha! Grandma would be proud.

    January 9, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Leave a Reply

