photographing, cooking, laughing through life

One of my favorite quotes from one of my favorite books…

to kill a mockingbird

   There are days I miss teaching English…when I hear my students discussing Hamlet (my favorite Shakespeare play to teach), when I help a student organize their thoughts when they’re writing an essay, or when my sister starts talking about teaching To Kill a Mockingbird – my favorite novel in the history of ever.

   I don’t really know what it is about Harper’s Lee’s TKAM that has so resonated with me over the years.  From the moment I read it, and even as I was reading it, I knew that it was something that would stick with me.  The quote that is at the top of this post is a quote that I think of often.  This advice comes from a conversation Atticus has with Scout  which helps her develop as the story progresses.  It shows his strong moral character and how he can share important words of wisdom with his children in ways they can easily understand. Although, this is, at first, hard for Scout to truly comprehend, she eventually learns to put into practice this idea of sympathy and compassion.  As readers, it gives us an optimistic outlook amid the darkness of the plot.

   What if all of us lived our lives in this way? What if, instead of thinking only of ourselves and our struggles, we learned to see the struggles and perspectives of others?  I know that I would be a better daughter, sister, friend and teacher if I truly lived by this quote daily.   We don’t know what burdens each person is carrying with them. If we all took the advice of Atticus Finch, what would our world truly look like?

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Very true my dear. As a teacher I knew this was true but didn’t always get it done.

    January 13, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Leave a Reply

