photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Taking it old school…

Last week one of my friends decided to deactivate her Facebook page. This statement may fill you with shock and awe, but one of the reasons she did it is something that I never really thought of.  She said that Facebook was essentially turning her into a lazy friend.  Instead of being a part of her friends’ lives, she was just watching them happen on Facebook.

While I’m not “brave” enough to deactivate my Facebook, our discussion last week got me thinking.  How much do I actually, actively try to be a part of my friends’ lives.  Sure, I talk with and see my friends from Emporia.  I know what’s going on in their lives not just because we are Facebook friends, but also because I make an effort.  It’s easier – because they are so close – but I’ve found that I’m not a good at doing the same with my friends who live near and far away.  Whenever I do get to see them, we have a great time and it’s like we haven’t skipped a beat, but something needs to change.

Enter the card below.  I’ve decided to take it old school and make an effort to send a little snail mail.  I know that my mailbox contents consist of bills, bills and more bills.  How great would it be to actually take the time to put pen to paper and send something in the mail that might actually make going to the mailbox a little more exciting!? I know it’s just a small thing, but I hope that it’s something that will make me a better friend in the long run.

photo 4

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    I love cards…but then you knew that. I have two here on the desk, stamped and ready to go.

    January 19, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

