photographing, cooking, laughing through life

2014 New Recipe #5 – Vegetable Chow Mein

Lately I’ve been trying to do a Meatless Monday recipe for my supper meal on Monday nights.  Tonight’s recipe comes from Dish Ditty Recipes and you can see the original post HERE.  I have been craving lo mein since one of my students brought leftovers for lunch last week, so I decided to try this recipe – and let me say, it was delicious and actually pretty easy!

As always, start by gathering your ingredients:

IMG_3671

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cabbage (shredded) – I used the bagged cabbage
  • 1 cup carrots (shredded) – again, I used the bagged
  • 1/2 bunch of green onions (sliced into long, thin strips)
  • * I added some mushrooms (because I love them) but didn’t take a pic with them – they were not on the original recipe
  • 1 pkg. chow mein stir fry noodles
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (I used light)
  • 1/4 cup Sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup lo mein sauce (or oyster sauce)
  • 1 Tbsp. EVOO

(when I make this again, I will probably cut down a little on the sesame oil and lo mein sauce, but it was still good this way)

First, cook noodles according to package directions (minus 1 minute). Mine literally had to cook for 2 minutes.  Then, take the noodles off the heat, strain and run cool water over them.

IMG_3673

 

While that’s cooking, chop up and assemble all of the vegetables. You definitely don’t have to add the mushrooms, but I thought it added a lot to the dish.

IMG_3676

 

Next, heat your oil in the pan and add your veggies – cooking for about 2 minutes, or until the cabbage is wilted.

IMG_3679

 

 

Now it’s time to add in the noodles.  Add in your noodles and 1/2 cup of your chicken broth. Make sure to stir constantly.  Cook for about 30 seconds – then add the remaining half cup of chicken broth and heat until all the liquid is dissolved.

IMG_3681

 

Finally, add in your soy sauce, sesame oil and lo mein sauce.  Heat through – about 2-3 minutes, and that’s it!

IMG_3685

Doesn’t it look delicious! Totally easy, just like your local Chinese restaurant and at a reasonable price! Meatless Monday (although not completely vegetarian thanks to the chicken broth) was a success!

 

 

3 responses

  1. I’m glad you liked the recipe! I love mushrooms too, but my husband and son don’t. The mushrooms look like a great addition. 🙂

    January 20, 2014 at 6:22 pm

  2. Dee Schwinn

    Looks very yummy! I would leave out the onions..ha.

    January 20, 2014 at 6:30 pm

  3. Also, one other thing, if you want it vegetarian, you can use Miso broth (mix hot water with miso paste) and use a Vegetarian Oyster sauce. I tried that a couple weeks ago and it was fantastic.

    January 20, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Leave a Reply

