photographing, cooking, laughing through life

2014 Book Review #5 – The First Phone Call From Heaven, by Mitch Albom

The First Phone Call from Heaven

From New York Times bestselling author, Mitch Albom, my latest book review is his most recent release, The First Phone Call From Heaven. The story centers around the small Michigan town of Coldwater.  One Friday morning, the phones start ringing, but these aren’t ordinary phone calls, they are phone calls from heaven.  When news of the miracle phone call spreads outside the town of Coldwater, thousands flock to the small town – all hoping to hear from a deceased loved one.

Meanwhile, Coldwater native Sully Harding has returned to his hometown after being in prison and does not take to the miracle fever, especially when his own son begins to carry around a toy phone hoping to hear from his own mother.

This novel, which blends historical information Alexandar Graham Bell’s invention of the telephone with the intertwining stories of those who are touched by the phone calls, was a quick read for me.  With more of a mystery feel to it than Albom’s other works, I found myself turning the pages more quickly as I got towards the end, just so I could see what would happen.  For me, the strongest story line was the one involving Sully, and I found myself wishing his story was part of the book more frequently.

The only real problem I found with the novel (and ironically it’s the exact opposite of the problem I found with my last book) was that there were way too many points of view for me.  I normally like seeing a story from multiple perspectives, but when those perspectives went to even minor characters, it was a little much for me. The story at the heart of novel, with Sully, was what kept my rating of this novel as high as it did.

The First Phone Call From Heaven rating: 4/5 stars

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    On the Nook or a real book?

    January 24, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Leave a Reply

