photographing, cooking, laughing through life

The search for the perfect Ranch.

Ranch is the perfect condiment (in my opinion) but finding the perfect ranch is harder than you might think. My ranch dressing must reach the perfection that is, say, the ranch dressing they have at Rock Springs (a camp where I worked for 4 summers) or ranch like they have at Chappell’s in North Kansas City or at Ad Astra in Strong city.

I have begun my search for the perfect homemade ranch…today’s recipe was originally found HERE.

Gather your ingredients:

IMG_3769

  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 Tbsp. white vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. water (add more for thinner dressing)
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 pinch of sea salt

Mix all of the ingredients together:

IMG_3772

This recipe made a VERY thick ranch…I mean THICK.  It was more like a dip.  I even added a lot more water and it was still really thick.

IMG_3773

 

Overall, this dressing had a good (and unique) flavor – thanks, I think, to the Parmesan cheese, but it was just too much like a dip for me.

Back to the recipe search!

Have a good ranch dressing recipe? Share it with me in the comments.

Leave a Reply

