photographing, cooking, laughing through life

“Soup”er Bowl Sunday – I couldn’t resist

With the National Weather Service predicting up to 7 inches of snow beginning Monday night, I figured today might be a good day to get some soup made. With it being the day of the big game, I figured I would try one that looked pretty simple too.

I found the original recipe on Pinterest and you can see it HERE. I love that it uses fresh veggies, but I was nervous to use some of these spices I’ve never used. This recipe serves 6.

Gather your ingredients:

Image

  • 1 can cream of healthy request cream of chicken soup
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon Montreal steak seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 small onion, finely diced
  • 1 cup grated carrots (I used the matchstick – pre-cut ones)
  • 1 large bunch broccoli, cut into bite size pieces (I used the bagged, chopped from Wal-Mart)
  • 1/2 cup reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese
  • 6 tablespoons light sour cream

First, combine the first 7 ingredients in your slow cooker – set to low.

Image

Then, heat your oil in a medium-high skillet and add in your veggies.  Heat until the veggies are softened (this took about 7 minutes for me)

Image

Then add the veggies to your slow cooker, stir the ingredients together and cover.  Cook on low for 3-4 hours.

Image

Shortly before you are ready to serve, add in your cheese and stir so the cheese melts.

Image

Serve with a dollop of sour cream.

Image

Overall, I liked the soup – although I think I will switch up the spices a little if I make it again.  I think it was the Italian seasoning that I didn’t really like.  It was my first time using Italian seasoning and Montreal steak seasoning.  Maybe I’ll try blending some of my own spices together instead.

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Looks like it would be good.

    February 2, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Leave a Reply

