photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Book Review: This World We Live In (The Last Survivors #3) by Susan Beth Pfeffer

This World We Live In (Life As We Knew It Series #3)

Well, it seems I’m going to read this entire series in the span of a week or so…The third book in the “Live As We Knew It” series returns once again to rural Pennsylvania and Miranda’s family.  It has been nearly a year since the moon was hit by an asteroid, thus completely changing the lives of those on Earth.  The struggle to survive is compounded when Miranda’s brother brings someone new into the family and Miranda’s father and stepmother arrive with a baby and three strangers in tow. One of the newcomers is Alex Morales (our main character from the novel “The Dead & The Gone”). When Miranda’s feelings for him, turn to love, the plans he has for himself and his sister Julie look to end their relationship before it truly begins. When an already difficult world faces even more devastation, Miranda makes a decision that will change everyone’s lives forever.

Once again, this novel is one that I simply could not put down.  I feel like I’ve gotten to know these characters (especially because I’ve been reading these books nonstop). However, that doesn’t truly mean that I LOVE the series.  This book returned to telling the story from Miranda’s perspective, and of the two protagonists, I really liked Alex’s point of view better.  I also felt that many of the characters did things in this novel that were completely out of character…and maybe this is called for because of the desperateness of the situation they find themselves in.  There are only so many times the author can say that they are worried about running out of food…that the weather is cold, gray and gloomy…I really want MORE from this series.

I was, at first, concerned because I did not like the end of this book.  You are left with very little hope for the future of these characters, and I thought that this was the final book in the series.  Luckily (because I’ve come to this series late), there IS a fourth book.  I have high hopes for that book that it will finally bring a hope to Miranda and her family, and that all of this reading will have been worth it.

This World We Live In Review: 3/5 stars

2 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    And do you have the fourth one to read?

    February 15, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    • I don’t think we have it in the school library…

      February 15, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

