photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Book Review: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

I’ve always been a lover of young adult fiction, and even started writing my own book several times when I was younger…although it never got past about the first couple of pages…maybe one day…and that takes me to today’s book review.  

Melissa Kantor’s novel “Maybe One Day” tells the story of two best friends, Zoe and Olivia.  The two friends have always had big plans. First those plans included being prima ballerinas touring the globe, but when they are cut from the ballet company, their plans change.  Although Zoe calls this event, “the worst thing that will happen to us in our entire lives,” she is quickly proven wrong when Livvie discovers she has leukemia.  Now, the future is uncertain, and Zoe must do everything she can to help Olivia overcome this because they alternative is too tough to take. 

Much like “The Fault in our Stars,” this novel explores how relationships change, how the world keeps turning, and how sometimes the worst thing that could possible happen in your life sometimes isn’t even actually happening to you.  Also, much like TFIOS I bawled my way through portions of this book in the middle of a Starbucks…

This novel will stay with me for a long time.  I found the plot compelling, the characters memorable and the writing full of voice.  I truly enjoyed the friendship between Livvie and Zoe…a friendship that is more of a sisterhood.  Kantor even throws in a romance that truly helps the characters focus on hope and the future.    

For some reason, I am always drawn to these emotional books…maybe I just need to learn to read them at home instead of at Starbucks! 

While I enjoyed the novel, it did not quite live up to what I expect from these kinds of books after reading TFIOS…and for that I give “Maybe One Day” by Melissa Kantor 4/5 stars.

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Sounds like a tear jerker.

    February 22, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Leave a Reply

