photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Living in the Moment

We live in a connected world.  Most of us are within easy reach of a phone that will connect us to family, friends, social media, music, internet search engines, games…the list goes on and on…and gets longer (it feels) by the second.  As a communications teacher, I embrace how connected we can be – how easy it is to discover more about the world.

But, what about the world around us – in our immediate surroundings.  How often do we disregard what is going on in our lives to see what’s going on in someone else’s, to check the score of a game, to play candy crush? How connected are we to what is actually going on in the “real world.”

As a late 90s high school graduate, my high school years ended and my college years began before the biggest of the technology booms.  My first cell phone was a bag phone, that I shared with my sister my first semester of college.  We used computers in labs provided on campus – or the ONE that was in the basement of our scholarship house.  We called home, or home called us on Wednesdays and sometimes Sundays. When we went to a football game, we were at the game and knew nothing of what was going on outside of those 100 yards on the field.  We listened to the radio in our study rooms and didn’t have every song we could ever want at our fingertips. We lived in the moment because there wasn’t any other way to live.

As a teacher in the midst of the technology boom, I have noticed just how much life has changed in the 15-or so- years since I graduated high school.  This may make me sound like I’m old, but sometimes I wish that my students could life in a less technological world, so they could be connected to what is going on around them.

I wish they could unplug for awhile and just enjoy life around them. It would be fun to go to a basketball game where our students had no distractions and could just be high school students cheering on their peers. How would it look if, instead of walking down the hallways looking at their phones, they looked each other in the eyes and told each other to have a great day? What if, instead of constantly having ear buds in with music blaring, they listened to the discussions and thoughts of their classmates?

Don’t get me wrong, I know that there are many times that I am just as bad as my students.  I get distracted by texts, find myself checking twitter while following a K-state game and ignoring what’s going on around me, read an email while someone is asking me a question…but I want to try to break those all to easy to start habits…and start living in the moment.

Live in the moment!

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Well said, my dear.

    February 26, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Leave a Reply

