photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Happy “Birthday”

Leap Day

Today is not my birthday…tomorrow is not my birthday…my birthday isn’t there…Such is the life of those of us born on February 29. The 29th is that crazy day added every 4 years in order to make sure the calendar year doesn’t stray too far away from the astronomical year.  You see, it doesn’t take the earth 365 days to circle the sun…it takes it roughly 365.25 days to circle the sun…so, in order for us to not (eventually-over centuries) end up with winter in July, a leap day is added.

While many may think that having a birthday on February 29 would be rough, I totally disagree.  First of all, you can always say that you are younger…for instance, when I turn 40, I won’t really be 40…I’ll only have had 10 birthdays! Next, you can always be that one “weird” person that people know as the Leap Year birthday person.  It’s such a weird day that people often remember your birthday who wouldn’t normally.  When you actually DO get to have a real birthday…it’s quite the blowout…which makes it even more fun.  When I turned “5” my college friends threw me a surprise party…complete with pin the tail on the donkey and other kids games – how fun is that?

Not only do I have a special birthday, but I got to share it with a special lady.  My Great-Grandma Davis was also born on the 29th…in 1896! Unfortunately for her, because it’s not EXACTLY 365.25 days…it’s a little less…so, there was no Leap Day in 1900. She didn’t get to have her first real birthday until 1904! I was a present for her 20th birthday (when she was actually 88).

So, even though there is no “day” for me…and won’t be for another two years, I don’t mind it too much…here’s to turning 9…in 2016!

2 responses

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Dr. Ginavin said I didn’t want a baby on the 29th, but I disagreed with him–even my due date! Grandma was excited and look what I got–a wonderful daughter! And…I can still say my “baby” is 8. Love ou.

    March 1, 2014 at 10:48 am

  2. Andrea Jantzen Rice

    Laura~ I remember your birthday that year at Clovia. I dressed up like a clown and made balloon animals 🙂 It was so much fun! Happy Birthday!

    March 1, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Leave a Reply

