photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Lasagna Soup

I’ve been going through recipes on my Pinterest boards and came across this recipe for “Tastes like Lasagna” soup and thought it would be the perfect supper for this COLD day.  I found the original recipe HERE – and after making it I may be making some modifications for the next time I make it, because (to me) it tasted more like it should be called “Tastes like Pizza – with noodles” soup.

Here are the ingredients:

Image

 

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 pound Italian turkey sausage…okay…I could only find turkey breakfast sausage…so I used that!
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • Minced garlic (I did a few shakes) OR 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 (32-ounce) container chicken broth
  • 1 (15-ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (14 1/2-ounce) can petite diced tomatoes (I did the no-salt added)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I omitted this…didn’t think with the sausage I needed more salt)
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • dash of oregano
  • 4 ounces broken whole-wheat lasagna noodles (about 4 noodles)
  • chopped fresh basil (I did 3 larger leaves)
  • 3 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup reduced-fat shredded mozzarella cheese

First, chop you onions and green peppers:

Image

 

 

 

 

 

Heat the oil over medium-high heat in a large nonstick saucepot (one that has a lid). Add the sausage, onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Cook over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the sausage is crumbled and browned, 8 – 10 minutes.

photo 3

 

Then, add in your chicken broth, tomato sauce, tomatoes, salt, red pepper flakes and oregano.  Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer.  Cover with lid and let cook for 20 minutes (stirring occasionally).  This makes sure to blend all of the flavors together.

photo 4

 

Meanwhile, break apart your lasagna noodles (or simply buy a more flat-type noodle to use).  Add the noodles to the pot, once again, bring to a boil and then simmer (uncovered) for about 10-12 minute or until the noodles are fully cooked and the soup has begun to thicken.

photo 5

Remove your soup from the heat and add in your basil and Parmesan.  Next, add in you mozzarella and serve.

photo 6

Now, this was pretty delicious, but I think I would make a few modifications if I were to make it again.  To me, it really didn’t taste like lasagna (mostly because of the green peppers), so I think I will omit those next time.  I would also probably use different noodles as opposed to using the broken lasagna noodles.  I did like how the noodles were wheat though.  Another win from pinterest!

Leave a Reply

