photographing, cooking, laughing through life

No Day But Today

Sometimes you come across a quote, a phrase, a song lyric, that hits you at the exact right moment. For me, the above quote, taken from a song in the musical “Rent,” really made me stop and think.  So many times I put things off until “tomorrow” – you know what, tomorrow never comes…there is always a tomorrow.

Sure, we all have regrets, we all have those things in our life that we wish we could change, we all think about what would have happened if our life had taken a different path.  Guess what, we can’t change our past, we can only live each day to its fullest and make new choices as we move forward.

Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday, the time when the church Lenten season begins.  During this time of preparation before Easter, I want to really spend that time doing something better with my life: taking time to make healthy choices, do more volunteering, really listening to people and helping those around me.  I want to spend this time really living my life instead of being “along for the ride.”

Let’s see what a difference 40 days can make.

“I live each moment as my last
There’s only us
There’s only this
Forget regret
Or life is yours to miss
No other road,
No other way
No day but today.”

-Another Day, Rent

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Well Said.

    March 4, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Leave a Reply

