photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Basketball ends…for me!

Although I’d already announced my final Emporia High game of the season, I had the opportunity to, once again, do a little basketball announcing down at White Auditorium for the Class 1A Division I state basketball tournament.  It’s fun to announce a few games at a larger venue – and also see the passion that smaller schools have for their teams.

Tonight officially marked the final basketball games I will announce this season – and what a season it was.  So many overtimes (luckily none tonight), so many close games and so many fun names to announce! I love when you get a really fun name to say – although none will top former Topeka West Charger, Chioma Okoronkwo or Manhattan’s Onyeka Ahie…too much fun.

Even though I’ll “turn off the mic” for another basketball season, that doesn’t mean I’ll get too much of a break from announcing.  My first soccer announcing gig is March 27 – and then it’s another full softball season of announcing.  Good thing I really enjoy it!

photo

Leave a Reply

