photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Book Review – “Such A Pretty Fat” by Jen Lancaster

My first experience with Jen Lancaster came in the form of her fifth book “My Fair Lazy” and I instantly loved her style of writing.  She has a similar humor to my own (with a little more punch – i.e. less concerned about what anyone thinks…one of my huge faults) and, like Jen, I am a fan of reality TV (only the good ones, I swear) – which is the theme of the book.  With her books, I always feel like they take just a little while to get into, but once you do get into them, they are hard to put down.

Today’s book review is over Lancaster’s third memoir “Such a Pretty Fat” – get off my back…you don’t HAVE to read them in order!!! This memoir chronicles Jen’s decision to get her diet under control…hello – this book could have been written about me.  I appreciated the internal struggle she actually verbalizes throughout the pages of this book.  She shares her foray into the “joys” of diet clubs (Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers), her “love” of exercise – and when it finally became part of her lifestyle (maybe someday, right?!), and all of the fun that goes along with dieting.

This could just be the inspiration I need to really find my motivation! Her descriptions of her thoughts throughout the whole process were spot on.  If you are unfamiliar with her writing, she adds all of these “footnotes” that are simply hilarious – possibly my most favorite parts of the books! I’ve seen other reviews that call her narcissistic, but seriously – isn’t that what memoirs are all about? For me, this one isn’t a full 5 stars because it took me a little to really get into the book – she’s still debating whether or not to diet halfway through the book, but I was still laughing even if it took her awhile to get to the heart of the story.

If you’re looking for something fun to read – and possibly be inspired in the process – check out “Such a Pretty Fat” by Jen Lancaster – or check out more of her books by going to her blog at http://www.jennsylvania.com/ you won’t regret it!

Such a Pretty Fat 4/5 stars

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Her books must be pretty good because I can never find them in the library sale!

    March 15, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Leave a Reply

