photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Humans of New York

As a photographer, I’m always looking for inspiration. Well, I’ve found it in Brandon Stanton’s book “Humans of New York.”

The book is based off of Stanton’s work photographing the people of New York City.  Stanton was formerly a bond trader in Chicago who, after losing his job, decided to do something completely different. He took his love for photography on the road, first stopping in Pittsburgh and Philadelphia, before settling in New York City and discovering his passion for photographing the people who make up the city. This was the beginning of Humans of New York – through a photoblog and eventually a huge social media presence.  You can follow Stanton on twitter, like Humans of New York on Facebook or follow the blog on tumblr.  (Hint – do all three…his work is amazing)

I was thoroughly inspired by this book.  Not only are the photographs fantastic, the accompanying captions are gripping.  I found myself getting chills, laughing out loud – and having to SHARE some of the more poignant photos with those around me while I was reading.  How amazing would it be to document people on a daily basis: learning and telling their stories – through photos and simple captions. You can tell how truly genuine Stanton is and his work is truly captivating.  Even though I just borrowed this book from the library, I think it will be one that I will have to purchase.

Such an inspiring work…and one that continues to inspire as he posts each day. Check out this video about Stanton and his work.

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    I did hear those comments!

    March 19, 2014 at 10:39 am

Leave a Reply

