photographing, cooking, laughing through life

The end of an era…

Tomorrow will be the last time I teach a class in room 200…while this may not seem like a big deal, I have spent 14 years of my life in that classroom.  That room has be the journalism room at Emporia High since the building opened in 1973. It was my room for four years as a student and has been my room for 10 years as a teacher.  It was the room where I fell in love with journalism and decided to teach it.  It was the room where I spent most of my days as a high school student, where I learned the fundamentals of journalism, where I survived my first year teaching journalism (and sophomore honors)…it’s been good to me.

I’m leaving room 200 behind because my job has changed a little, technology has outgrown what room 200 can provide, and it’s really what is best for my staffs as we move forward.  We don’t use the dark room anymore – it’s been storage since before I took over.  My students will get to work on computers with dual monitors, they’ll each have their own computer and we’ll be able to start incorporating more videos into our online newspaper.  It’s a good change, but that doesn’t make it easy.

Image I’ve spent the last couple of weeks cleaning out the room.  I’ve found memorabilia from the last 40 years…of course there are yearbooks dating back to 1911, I found a stack of newspapers from 1927, I found Echo Chambers from the 60s and 70s, I found a 1992 Echo Stylebook, I found cropping crayons, cameras that I’m sure are older than me…the list goes on an on.  I will miss calling room 200 my home, but I’m ready for the fresh start in a new room and the challenge of new classes…I’m just glad that I have all summer to get settled into the new digs!

Image

Were you in journalism at E-High – do you have any memories from room 200? Share them in the comments!

 

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Memories of 200…Eileen Peoples, Jerilynn Henrikson, a gal I can remember from Colby, a guy I can’t remember from Ottawa, Kristy Martin, Keith Hughey, and Laura Schwinn…sad I can’t remember the two who were there for one year each… You can make new memories in another area!

    May 21, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Leave a Reply

