photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Book Review: The One & Only, by Emily Giffin

18465657

I’ve been an Emily Giffin fan since I read her first book, “Something Borrowed.” When her books come out, I try to read them as soon as possible. I’d been anticipating “The One & Only” for awhile and downloaded it to my nook soon after it was released.

The book takes place in Texas- where football is a religion – and the main character, Shea Rigsby worships at its altar (and has nearly her entire life.) Shea’s team is her hometown team in Walker, Texas – where she is best friends with the head coach’s daughter, worships the coach, and even works in the athletic department. She dates a former Walker football player and not much has changed in her life in the last 10 years.  When a tragedy strikes those closest to her, Shea is forced to make some life changing decisions that will take her out of her comfort zone and make her confront feelings and situations she would rather ignor.

Let me start off by saying there were parts of this book that I really liked. I, too, like college football (maybe not quite to the degree Shea does), so I enjoyed the football lingo.  Shea is also a writer, which played to the journalist in me.  There was even a rant by her editor that I find myself saying to my students as a broken record.

However, this book was not a real hit for me.  One of the things I love most about Giffin’s book are the characters she writes and their love stories.  I felt that the characters in this book were just not developed in the signature Giffin way. Also, don’t get me started on the “romance” in this book.  It was a giant miss for me – and I found myself actually rooting against what eventually ended up happening in the end.  Also, one of the biggest mysteries in the book was never solved – and leaving this main plot point unsolved will continue to bother me. There were so many ways this book could have worked – but it ultimately fell flat for me.

“The One & Only” was a quick read (I read it in a day…it’s summer…I’m allowed to do that) but if you’re interested in reading an Emily Giffin book, stick with some of her previous works, especially if you’re not a football fan.

The One & Only, by Emily Giffin 2.5/5 stars

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    I am starting it now.

    June 3, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

