photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Book Review: “I Don’t Know What You Know Me From: Confessions of a Co-Star,” by Judy Greer

18209341

The summer reading program at our local library has encouraged the adult participants to read a wider variety of books.  While I tend to gravitate towards fiction (and more specifically Young Adult fiction) I’ve tried to get out of my comfort zone a little more this summer.  I saw this biography on the new arrivals shelf and thought it looked like a fun read…so I picked it up.

This book is a collection of essays chronicling the life of actress Judy Greer. As an actress she has been in more than 80 TV shows, movies, etc., but usually in the co-starring role of best friend (hence the subtitle of the book…) I know her (and you may too) from movies like “The Wedding Planner,” “13 Going on 30,” “Arrested Development,” “What Women Want…” the list goes on…and on…and on. The book is split into three major parts: her past growing up in Detroit and attending school in Chicago, her acting and life in Hollywood, and her real life – with her dog, husband and friends. Each set of essays is basically told chronologically within the section and has a little anecdote for each essay in the set.

Overall I enjoyed learning a little more about the person behind the “best friend.” I enjoyed her tales from Hollywood, her conversations with her best friends (especially her random texts to Janet) and what it was like meeting her husband. She’s in my basic age range, so I found myself connecting with a lot of the references she made. Obviously this isn’t a deep, thought-provoking book, but I found it refreshing and a nice way to pass a few hours.  Her writing was very familiar – I felt like she was writing a letter to a friend – and found myself laughing out loud more than once.  It was nice to see that even though someone has been a in Hollywood for over a decade, she still seems very down to earth and even enjoys finding bargains at Target and Old Navy…as well as doing a little retail therapy (at CVS!)

Book Review: “I Don’t Know What You know Me From: Confessions of a Co-Star,” by Judy Greer 3.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

